Meet the Team – Sinethemba Beja

Who is Sinethemba Beja?

I am someone who is ambitious but who can also be vulnerable and weak. That would describe me as a woman. As I had told you before; I am like a tree in that I believe that life has its ups and downs. Each and everyone of us experiences our own dry seasons and that, as women, we should stand together during these times.

I am also someone who believes in women taking action. Despite your age, your background, where you come from and your level of education, I believe that every woman has an ability to be who she wants to be.

How did you end up working for Axium Education?

I was previously working at Zithulele Hospital, which is close to Axium Education so I could see everything that Axium was busy doing. A friend of mine told me that they were hiring and, seeing the impact they were having on the community and on the youth of Mqanduli, I was so interested in being part of a team that believes in the future of Zithulele.

preview

What is your role at Axium now that you are here?

I am working as an administrator.

A crazy job.

Very.

What has been the most rewarding part of your job thus far?

The most rewarding part of my job is that I get to work with many different people who are, most of the time, all under pressure and demanding stuff.

So you like to relieve our pressure?

Kind-of. But what is really making it rewarding for me is that I feel I am actually helping even if I am not on the front row and going to schools myself. I am in the background doing something small but important.

What has been the most challenging part of your job thus far?

Sometimes I have to work with lots of stationary and equipment that gets lost and misplaced easily. I expect to find things in one team only to find that it’s not there anymore. I am still new and I’m still learning.

What are some of your own personal goals for your future?

I want to study further but the thing I feel most passionate about is ministry. I feel that there is a huge need for role models in my community and for people who are willing to stand up and do something like mentoring young people in different forms. I believe that God has given us all something; it doesn’t matter how big and how small it is. What is important is the way that you use it. I feel strongly about trying to build up people motivating them to grow into their potentials.

You are clearly very passionate about empowering young women and interested in their roles in society. What words of encouragement would you give a young female teenager from a rural community?

I will speak from my own personal experience. When I was growing up many people told me who I was and who I was going to be. People define you but their definition for you doesn’t matter. What really matters is who God says you are. What people say doesn’t define you. What your friends are doesn’t define you. Your mistakes don’t determine your destination. So I would encourage and motivate young women not to lean on other people’s views about their lives but to lean on God. To know that they can do it.

Leave a Reply

