Meet Luvo Vice

Luvo Vice (Matric 2013) is an inspiring Axium alumnus who has excelled in his next steps into the tertiary education world. His outlook and story are great examples of the gritty determination and excellence that drive students who beat the odds. The following article, written by Luvo, appeared in the Ulwazi School Newspaper. 

 

Luvo 1

 

Elbert Hubbard once said “Know what you want to do, hold the thought firmly, and do every day what should be done, and every sunset will see you that much nearer to your goal”. Elbert’s words reminds me of my long personal journey to the entrance of a University life after completing Grade 12 with mathematics and science, thinking that access to university will be like a walk in the park. I was not aware that life after matric was going to get much tougher.

When I grew up I was fascinated about a career in the engineering industry and, while still at school studying science, I was selected to attend extra classes with a non-profit organization called Axium Education situated in Zithulele in the Eastern Cape. But this all changed after matric when I was not able to get any financial assistance to study engineering at University.

However, Axium Education submitted an application for me to a private, accredited university called the Tertiary School in Business Administration (TSiBA) which offers business related qualifications at two campuses across the Western Cape. Fortunately, I was awarded a scholarship and also accepted to study for a Certificate in Practical Business Administration (CPBA) at TSiBA Eden Campus in Knysna.

That is when my life changed forever.

 

luvo 3

 

I must admit, I did not like the idea of changing to commerce at first because I never saw myself as a businessman, or studying anything to do with commerce. When I look back, I now realize that even though I did not initially choose to study business, it definitely chose me! And it’s been the best choice and the greatest move I have ever taken.

My first year at TSiBA was a year of self-discovery because it was the first time away from my comfort zone – which is home. Even though it was challenging at times I invested much time and effort to make sure I did well. All my hard work paid off as I did not only passed all of my courses, but was in the top of my class.

I am proud to say that as I write this article, I am preparing to graduate with my Higher Certificate, and also in my first year of a Bachelor in Business Administration (BBA) degree at TSiBA Cape Town.

My advice to other young people is also set small, realistic goals so that you are able to follow through and achieve them. My other quote that motivated me to keep on trying is that of John Dewey, “Arriving at one goal is the starting point to another”.

 

Luvo 2

One thought on “Meet Luvo Vice

  1. Wow… It feels like yesterday! Everything I do I look up to you guys because you are the reason I am here today. #KeepDoingYourThing #MuchRespect

Leave a Reply

